Ghanaian trio, Gyan, Ayew, KP Boateng up for African Player Award

Striker Asamoah Gyan on the ball during the Ghana-England match in UK

Ghanaian trio, Andre Ayew (Olympique de Marseille), Asamoah Gyan (Al-Ain) and Kevin-Prince Boateng (AC Milan) have been nominated for CAF’s 2011 African Player of the Year Award.

The three were among a 10-man list outdoored in Accra today November 9, 2011 by Mr. Kwesi Nyantakyi, CAF Executive Committee member and president of the Ghana Football Association after a vigorous exercise by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of the continent’s football governing body, taking into account the performance of “the player for his national team and club from January to November, 2011.”

The rest of the list includes Adel Taarabt (Morocco and Queens Park Rangers), Didier Drogba (Cote d’ Ivoire and Chelsea), Moussa Sow (Senegal and Lille), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon and Anzhi), Seydou Keita (Mali and Barcelona), Yao Kouassi Gervais “Gervinho” (Cote d’Ivoire and Arsenal) and Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City).

CAF, however, said, the list will be reduced to five and later to a final three before the awards will be held December 22, 2011 in Accra, Ghana.

The winner will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches or the Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

CAF also unveiled 10 nominees for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa). They are Ayoub Elkhiqi (Morocco and WAC); Yaya Banana (Cameroon and EST); Edward Sadomba (Zimbabwe and Al Hilal); Idrissa Laouali (Niger and ASFA); Jerome Ramatlhakwane (Botswana and Vasco da Gama); Kalu Uche (Nigeria and Enyimba); Oussama Darragi (Tunisia and EST); Samir Aboud (Libya and Al-Etihad); Youssef Msakni (Tunisia and EST) and Zouhir Dhaouadi (Tunisia and Club Africain).

By Ekow Quandzie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.