Ten-member committee to review NPP’s election 2016 victory

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has inaugurated a ten member committee to review the circumstances that led to the party’s overwhelming victory in the 2016 election and submit a report within the next six weeks.

The committee which is chaired by Dr Opoku Adusei, is expected to make an independent review of the party’s performance and present a report which would form a basis for the party’s future election strategies.

Other members on the committee are Evans Nimako, Dr Ohene Konadu, Joyce Boateng, Rita Asobayere, and Alhassan Suleman.

The rest are Nelson O. Ansah, Mr Kusi Boafo, Mr Osei Agyei, and Dr Mark Bediako.

Mr John Boadu, Acting General Secretary of the party, who inaugurated the committee on Wednesday, said the group would provide an honest analysis of the election country wide, on structures and operations at all levels.

He said the committee would also provide an objective review of the current state of the party and its relationship with government.

Mr Boadu said the NPP took cognizance of the fact that every political programme required a critical review of performance and had conducted such reviews after every election since the 1992 elections.

“When the party believed that the 1992 presidential election was rigged, it did a review of the election and came up with the popular Stolen Verdict document”.

“Likewise, the 1996 presidential and parliamentary elections were reviewed by the party and the lessons learnt and mistakes corrected catapulted the party’s into winning the 2000 elections overwhelmingly. The party produced what was known as the Bought Verdict,” he said.

Mr Boadu said the Heymann Committee of 2008 reviewed why the NPP lost the 2008 elections and some of the recommendations given resulted in the amendments of the party’s constitution in 2009.

“You all know about the bizarre circumstances under which the 2012 elections were declared by the Electoral Commission and even the Supreme Court pronouncement on the presidential election petition filed by the then presidential candidate and now the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. The 2012 election was reviewed as well,” he said.

He said the leadership of the party would review the committee’s report and strategize for future elections.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.