Parliament constitutes 20-member Select Committee

The Legislature on Tuesday sat for the second time after the inauguration of the Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic and constituted a 20-member Select Committee to ensure the selection of members into the various Committees of Parliament.

Reverend Professor Aaron Michael Ocquaye, the Speaker of Parliament, is to chair the Selection Committee, which has all the leadership from both sides of the House as members.

There are 16 Select Committees and 11 Standing Committees of Parliament.

The House will be working with the ratio 169:106 to determine the membership for the various committees.

Mr Osei Kyei-Mensa- Bonsu, the Majority Leader in Parliament, in a statement on the floor of the House said the decision was based on Order 151 and 152 of the Standing Orders of the House.

Meanwhile, the House during the correction of Votes and Proceedings for its first sitting, spent some time in the correction of misspelled names of some Members or Constituencies as advertised in the Votes and Proceedings Paper for the first sitting held last Saturday.

Mr Samuel Atta Akyea, MP for Abuakwa South, drew the attention of the House and suggested the correction to be channeled to the Table Office in order to save time.

The Speaker, however, allowed the corrections to proceed, explaining that the activity might provide an opportunity for Members affected, mostly debutants, to be heard.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.