President Mahama inaugurates Police Council

President John Mahama
President John Mahama

President John Dramani Mahama on Monday inaugurated a 10-member Police Council, with a call on members to tackle all challenges head-on, to improve activities of the Service.

The members are made up of Vice President Paa Kwesi Amissah-Arthur, Chairman, Mr Kwesi Ahwoi, Minister for the Interior, Mr Mohammed Ahmed Alhassan, Inspector-General of Police, and Mr Dominic Ayine.

Other members are Commissioner of Police (COP) Kwasi Nkansa (retired), Inspector Charles Obiri Yeboah, COP Rose Bio Atinga, Ms Nancy Amartefio, Reverend Lartey Lawson and Alhaji Salifu Osman.

The new Council replaces the former one which was chaired by President Mahama himself.

The Police Council is enjoined by Article 203 of the 1992 Constitution, to among other things, advise government on the activities of the Police Service, conditions of service, promotions, pensions and gratuities.

President Mahama said although government had for the past years equipped the service with more logistics, there were still challenges of inadequate office and residential accommodation, lecture rooms at the training school, transport and obsolete communication gadgets.

He said government was working seriously to meet the United Nations standards of one policeman to 500 citizens, and challenged the Council to initiate programmes that would help achieve that objective.

The President urged the Police Administration to embark on pro-active and pre-emptive programmes to avoid any future calamity in the country.

Vice President Amissah- Arthur, Chairman of the Council, pledged the Council’s determination  to live up to expectation, to ensure that the Police  performed their traditional role of maintaining law and order.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.