Kwadwo Asamoah picks SWAG top awards

Kwadwo Asamoah
Kwadwo Asamoah

Black Stars midfielder, Kwadwo Asamoah has been crowned the 2012 Sports Personality of the Year by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG).

The 24-year old, who plies his trade with Italian giants, Juventus scooped the topmost honour at the 38th edition of the SWAG Awards Night held last Saturday at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra.

Asamoah, who pipped former Black Maidens captain Priscilla Okyere to the ultimate prize, was also named Footballer of the Year. He beat Black Stars teammates Andre Ayew and Emmanuel Clottey in that category.

The ceremony, to honour sportsmen and women who distinguished themselves in their respective disciplines for the year 2012 was attended by the crème de la crème of Ghana sports.

It was the second time in three years that a footballer was being decorated with the coveted accolade. Paralympic athlete Ajara Mohamed won it in 2011 and Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan the previous year.

Hearts of Oak captain, Mahatma Otoo, who finished the just ended season as top scorer with 20 goals won the Premiership Player of the Year, fending off challenge from Yahaya Mohamed of Amidaus Professionals and Asante Kotoko midfielder Michael Akuffu.

It was triple joy for the Black Maidens, bronze winners at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Azerbaijan last year. The team was decorated National Team of the Year, Okyere as Female Footballer of the Year and trainer Mas-Ud Didi Dramani as Coach of the Year.

Another plus for women’s football was Ex-Black Queens captain Adjoa Bayor being presented with the Dedication and Valour award.

Club of the Year went to Berekum Chelsea for their exploits in last year’s CAF Champions League whilst Tema Youth midfield prodigy went home with the Promising Star of the Year. Swimming sensation Abeiku Jackson picked up the Discovery of the Year honour.

Other award winners are John Ampomah – Male Athlete of the Year, Janet Amponsah – Female Athlete of the Year, Derek Abrefa – Male Table Tennis Player of the Year, Cynthia Kwabi – Female Table Tennis Player of the Year, Duke Micah – Amateur Boxer of the Year and Alberta Amponsah – Weightlifter of the Year.

The rest are Amos Korblah – Male Golfer of the Year, Beatrice Vetsch-Bempong – Female Golfer of the Year, Elikem Akaba – Male Hockey Player of the Year and Juanita Korwu – Female Hockey Player of the Year.

There were also special meritorious awards for some individuals and institutions for their contribution towards the development of sports in the country.

They include Emmanuel Kyeremeh – Chairman of Berekum Chelsea, Tesano Dolphins Club, MTN Ghana, Prince Kofi Amoabeng, Anita Fordjour, S.B. Donkor, Promasidor Company Limited and Die Hard Supporters Union.

There were also posthumous awards for late former President, John Evans Atta Mills and former Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama.

Source: GNA

Comments are closed.