LGWU elects new National Women’s Committee officers

voter2Members of the Local Government Workers’ Union (LGWU) of the Trade Union Congress (TUC) of Ghana have elected a nine-member national women executive to manage women’s affairs for the next four years.

The election climaxed the Union’s three-day National Executive Council meeting, which ended at the Bunso Cocoa College in the Eastern Region on Friday.

Miss Lydia Ayiigah, Madam Jemima Eshun and Mrs Bertha Nyaglo were elected as Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretary respectively.

The rest were Madam Beatrice Agyare, Madam Gloria Apiok, Madam Patricia Antwi, Madam Rahael Boateng, Madam Winifred Bizoolu and Madam Kate Ocran were elected as executive members.

Mr Joe Boahen, General Secretary of the LGWU, said he would focus on Trade Union education as a priority and use it to fight ignorance among women members in the union.

He said he would also establish an education committee network to increase contacts and build stronger partnerships with women in the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies and the Local Government Service (LGS).

Miss Babara Quaye, Second National Vice Chairperson of the Union, entreated the newly elected women to forge ahead in unity as “united we stand, divided we fall.”

Miss Baaba Essilfie, the Youth Desk Coordinator, urged the women not to hesitate to call on the headquarters if they faced problems in the regions.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.