Ghana Business News editors excel at 17th GJA Awards

The two editors of who were nominated for awards at the 17th Ghana Journalists Awards Night became eventual winners.

Emmanuel K. Dogbevi, the Managing Online Editor won the “Best in Anti-Corruption Report” award and Edmund Smith-Asante, the Assistant Online Editor won the “Best in Water Report” award.

The Journalist of the Year Award went to Manasseh Azure Awuni.

Winners in other categories are; Isaac Kaledzi, formerly of Citi FM “Best in Rural Reporting”, Jamila Akweley Okertchiri of the Daily Guide, “Best Report on the Disabled”, Rosemary Gaisie of GBC Radio, “Best in Sports”, Emmanuel Adu Gyamera of the Daily Graphic, “Best in Parliamentary Reporting”, Geoffrey Buta of the Ghanaian Times took the award for ‘Photo Journalism”, Kofi Enchil of the Heritage got the award for “Best in Political Reporting”,  the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation won the awards for the “Best Report on Science” and the “Media House for Democracy and Peace Building”.

Samuel  Nii Narku Dowuona of Adomonline won the “Best in Telecoms Reporting”, Sarah Ofori of GBC TV won the award for “Best TV Feature” and the “Best Feature on Radio” award went to Diamond Radio.

Manasseh Azure Awuni also, won the “Best in TV News Reporting” and “Best in Sanitation”, Dzifah Emma Tetteh of the Ghanaian Times won the “Best in News Reporting for Print”, Sepenyo Dzokoto of the GNA won the “Best in Education Report for Print”, the “Best Investigative Report” went to Moses Dotsey Aklorbortu, Emelia Ennin Abbey of Daily Guide won both the “Best in Environment” and “Best in Business and Finance Reporting”, Kwaku Owusu-Peprah of Joy FM won the “Best HIV/AIDS Reporting”, and Albert Futukpor of the GNA won the “Best in Oil & Gas Reporting”.

Adanuti Nelson of Diamond FM won the “Best in Development Journalism – MDGs”, The “Best Layout” went to the Finder newspaper, Shirley Asiedu of the Daily Graphic won the “Best in SME”, Richard Bright Addo of Net 2 TV won the “Best in Health Reporting”, TV Africa won the “Best in Agriculture” award and Michael Oti of Metro TV won the “Best in Social Security.”

The award for the “Best in Art and Entertainment and Domestic Tourism” was won by Akua Oforiwa Darko of GTV, Albert Oppong Ansah of the GNA won the “Best in Human Rights” and there were some runner-ups in some of the categories.

The Chairperson for the occasion was Prof. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, Director, Legon Centre for International Affairs and Diplomacy, the Guest Speaker was  His Eminence Peter Cardinal Appiah Turkson, President, Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, the Vatican and the Special Guest of Honour was Jim Boumelha, President of the International Federation of Journalists.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.