Sacked DCE defeats incumbent in Kade NDC primary

Mr George Agyemang Dua, immediate past Kwaebibirem District Chief Executive, convincingly won the National Democratic Congress (NDC) primary held at Kade at the week-end.

He polled 232 votes to beat the incumbent DCE, Mr Emmanuel Osae, who had 112 votes.

Two other contestants, Mr Anthony Afranie and Mrs Sabina Faustina Jones polled 37 and 36 votes respectively.

Mr Osae was the party’s parliamentary candidate for both the 2004 and 2008 parliamentary polls and lost to the New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate and incumbent Member of Parliament (MP), Mr Ofosu Asamoah.

Mr Dua thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and appealed to  the other contestants and their supporters to work together to win the Kade seat in 2012.

The NDC had consistently lost Kade seat to NPP since 1996.

At Brekumanso, Mr Martin Bruce Opare won the Lower West Akyem primary, by polling 133 votes in a four-corned contest.

Mr Opare who contested the seat for the party in 2004 beat Mrs Victoria Kuma-Minta who had 92 votes, Mr Kwasi Akuamoah Ofosu-Boateng who won the seat for the party in 1992 and 1996 elections polled 66 votes with Mr Seth Otchere, parliamentary candidate in 2008 getting 33 votes.

At Akwatia, as was widely expected, Mr Mohammed Ahmed Baba Jamal, a Deputy Information Minister, overwhelmingly beat his sole opponent Mr Kwaku Effisah, popularly known as Ampeace by 336 votes to 15.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.