Dr Anane receives mandate of Nhyiaeso delegates

Dr. Richard Anane

Voting in the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary primaries has ended in the Ashanti Region, on Saturday with the following results so far recorded:

At Nhyiaeso, Dr Richard Winfred Anane, a former Minister in NPP administration and Member of Parliament (NPP) for Nhyiaeso, polled 236 votes to beat other contestant, Nana Ama Serwaa Nyarko, who had 96 votes.

Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP for Manhyia, was also elected with 509 votes against Kwabena Amofa Sarpong, who had 140 votes.

Delegates in Oforikrom renewed the mandate of Mrs Elizabeth Agyemang, the incumbent MP, giving her 269 votes, while her opponent, Dr Alexander Ayogyem, polled 204.

Mr Akwasi Osei-Adjei, former Foreign Affairs Minister, failed in his bid to contest for the Ejisu-Juaben seat, losing by 235 votes to the incumbent Mr Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, who had 561 votes.

A former Kumasi Municipal Chief Executive, Madam Patricia Appiagyei, defeated Mr Maxwell Kofi Jumah, incumbent MP, in the hotly contested Asokwa race, by 282 votes to 187 votes.

Mr Stephen Kwaku Balado Manu, who has since 1996 served as MP for Ahafo-Ano South, had 74 votes and could not win to contest Election 2011 parliamentary polls.

He was defeated by Mr Francis Manu Adabo, who had 387 votes.

In Adansi Fomena, Mr Daniel Atta Boafo, defeated the sitting MP, Nana Abu Bonsra, by 126 votes to 53 votes.

Mr Henry Kwabena Kokofu had 197 votes to win the election for Bantama Constituency while, Mr Francis Asenso-Boakye, had 117 votes.

Mr Mohammed Salisu Bamba won the Ejura-Sekyedomase race with 373 votes, beating Sampson Anama and Eugene Asante, who received 90 votes and 52 votes, respectively.

Nana Okyere Tawiah-Antwi had 212 votes to win the polls to contest for the Asawase seat against Dr Mohammed Kabiru Bala, who had 155 votes, Mustapha Ahmed Yaro, who had 150 votes, Peter Okyere, who 23 votes and Baba Sheriff, who won 10 votes.

At the Ahafo-Ano North constituency, Richard Akuoko Adiyia, MP, had 418 votes while, Kwame Owusu Frimpong, secured 105 votes.

At Afigya-Sekyere constituency, Nana Marfo, had 143 votes to win the polls against Karikari Baah Achamfuor, who had 129 votes.

At Asante-Mampong constituency, incumbent MP, Francis Addai-Nimoh, had 294 votes to win against Kwaku Ampratwum Sarpong, who had 145 votes.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.