Gyan, Kingson, Agbeko for SWAG awards

Asamoah Gyan - The Stars' key striker

Black Stars duo, Asamoah Gyan and Richard Kingson and Bantamweight champion, Joseph Agbeko will vie for the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Personality of the Year 2010 award.

The winner of the flagship award will be made public at the 2010 MTN-SWAG Awards slated for May 2011.

The nominees were unveiled by SWAG at a press conference in Accra on Wednesday for the ceremony designed to reward sports personalities who have excelled in the various sporting fields during the year under review.

Ackah Anthony, SWAG President announced that the event will be held in May against the traditional last quarter of the year, thanks to a three-year partnership with telecommunications outfit, MTN Ghana.

He said the performance of the sportsmen both at the national and international levels served the criteria for settling on the nominees.

The SWAG President also mentioned that the event will be graced by Danny Jordaan, Chief Executive of the Local Organising Committee of the South Africa 2010 World Cup.

Robert Kuzoe, Acting Corporate Services Executive of MTN said his outfit’s association with the event confirms their unflinching support towards the development of sports in the country.

“Our partnership with SWAG has been good and we hope to further strengthen this relationship in 2011,” he said while commending the executives of SWAG for sustaining the event over the years.

Meanwhile, in the case for the Sports Personality of the Year and Footballer of the Year awards, the general public will have a say courtesy a mobile text poll.

The following is the list of the nominees and award winners.

“Sports Personality of the Year” – Asamoah Gyan, Richard Kingson and Joseph Agbeko.

“Footballer of the Year” – Andre Dede Ayew, Asamoah Gyan, Richard Kingson.

“Basketball”-Mfantsipim School (Male), Sacred Heart High School (Female).

“Kickboxing” – Joseph Mingle and Lawrence Manyo

“Amateur Boxer” – Awusone Yekini

“Professional Boxer” – Joseph Agbeko

“Athletics” – Aziz Zakari (Male), Anita Fordjour (Female)

“Coach of the Year” – Milovan Rajevac, Herbert Addo

“Chairman of the Year” – Kwesi Nyantakyi

“Team of the Year” – Black Stars

“Dedication and Valour” – Stephen Appiah

“Promising Star” – Johnny Botsio

“Hockey” – Salia Nsalbini (Male), Ramatu Abbas (Female)

“Table Tennis” – Felix Lartey (Male), Beatrice Gyasi (Female)

“Special Awards” – Female Relay team, Black Challenge, Kevin Prince Boateng,
Promasidor Ghana Limited, Goldfields Ghana Limited, Revered E.D. Nii Koi

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.