Low turn-out at Assembly Elections in Tema

The 2010 Unit Committee and Assembly Elections took off smoothly in the Tema Metropolis with some polling stations recording low turn-outs.

When The Ghana News Agency (GNA) visited seven polling stations at Communities Nine and Eight, in the Tema East Constituency, the atmosphere was very calm.

At about 09:05 hours, the Redemption Valley Primary Number One, Centre One, Polling Station in the Blackcat Electoral Area, had recorded only nine votes out of 807 registered voters.

Three candidates, Mr Gabriel Adzika Tamakloe, Mr Samuel Kwaku Appiah, and Mr Samuel Christopher Mensah are contesting for the seat in the Electoral Area.

Mr Winfred Atitsogbi, Officer-in-charge of the Centre, said all the representatives of the four candidates were present, adding that, there were no contestants for the Unit Committees.

At the Centre Two Polling Station, 13 out of a total of 1,110 voters had cast their votes.

Centre Three Polling Station had also recorded 10 votes, out of 1,326 registered voters at the time of the visit.

Miss Harriet Ofori, Officer-in-charge of the Station, said one voter visited the Centre with an authority note from the Tema Office of the Electoral Commission, because he had misplaced his Voter’s Identity Card, but the registration number did not tally with the one on the Register.

Centre Five, which has a total of 1,475 registered voters, had recorded 58 voters at the time of the visit.

The officers-in-charge of the Polling Stations in the Blackcat Electoral Area, described as discouraging, the turn-out, putting the blame on the numerous postponements of the Elections.

They, however, expressed the hope that more people would cast their votes before 17:00 hours.

Two polling stations, at the Community Eight Number Three JSS, in the ‘A’ Road Electoral Area, also recorded a low turnout at the time of the visit.

Four people including the incumbent Mr Alex Owusu-Asare are contesting the seat in the Electoral Area.

The rest are Madam Judith Kumah, Mr Eric Yaw B. Anim-Addo and Madam Christiana Anaafi Tenkorang.

There were no contestants for the Unit Committees.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.