GJA Awards nominees announced

Edward Ameyibor

The Awards Committee of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has announced nominees for the GJA’s 15th Awards event.

There were 33 award winners, including the Journalist of the Year.

The announcement was made at a short ceremony at the International Press Centre in Accra Thursday August 19, 2010.

The Chairman of the Committee, veteran journalist, Edward Ameyibor made the announcement.

The following are the winners: Portia Solomon, TV3; Francis Tufuor, The Ghanaian Times; Evans Mensah, Joy 99.7 FM; Kingsely Obeng Kyere, GBC; Samuel Agyeman, Metro TV; Doreen Allotey, Daily Graphic; Peter Dela Tengey, Metro TV; Gabriel Ahiabor, Daily Graphic; Maurice Quansah, Daily Graphic; Kofi Akpabli, Freelance Journalist; Edward Nyarko, GTV; Esther Awuah, Business Guide; Emelia Abbey, Daily Guide; Lucy Adoma Yeboah, Daily Graphic; Gertrude Ankah, The Ghanaian Observer; Samuel Akapule, GNA; Kingsley Hope, The Ghanaian Times; Dzifa Azumah, GNA; Issah Shaibu, GBC; Samuel Dowuona, GNA; Anas Aremeyaw Anas, New Crusading Guide; Isabella Owusu-Oppong, GTV; Vicky Wireko, Freelance Journalist; Akosua, Daily Guide.

The following media organizations also won some awards: The Daily Graphic; Radio Peace 88.9 FM, Winneba; Sunrise Radio 106.7, GBC, Koforidua; Citi 97.3 FM; Peace 104.3 FM; Diamond FM 93.7, Tamale; “Kusum gbooo”, Obonu FM.

The Committee however, did not select nominees for six categories.

The awards event comes off Saturday August 21, 2010 at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra.

By Emmanuel K. Dogbevi

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.