Parliament to select auditor to assess Auditor-General

Parliament on Wednesday constituted a four-member Adhoc Committee to select an auditor to audit and report on the accounts of the Office of the Auditor-General of Ghana.

This follows a motion moved by Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu and seconded by the Minority Leader, Mr Haruna Iddrisu in accordance with article 187 (15) of the Constitution.

The committee, which is chaired by Mr James Klutse Avedze, Deputy Minority Leader include; Dr Festus Awuah Kwofie, MP for Upper Denkyira East, Dr Stephen Amoah, MP for Nhyiaeso and Sampson Tangombu Chiragia, MP for Navrongo Central.

Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu also explained that Mr Klutse Avedze was selected as the chairman of the committee because he was the most senior member and also a member of the leadership of the House.

He added that the Mr Klutse Avedze was also a long-standing member of the House as well as the Chairman of the Public Account Committee.

Mr Haruna Iddrisu in his comment stated that the decision to setup the committee was arrived at after a careful consideration and consultation with the leadership of Parliament.

He said the committee was constituted for the purpose of auditing the Auditor-General in accordance with Article 187(15) of the Constitution which allows the House to exercise such mandate. “It would be like a Police Policing the Policeman” he added.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.