Home / Politics / NPP to hold Primaries in four constituencies in Central Region

NPP to hold Primaries in four constituencies in Central Region

Share this with more people!

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) will today, September 28, hold its parliamentary primary elections in four constituencies in the Central Region.

Delegates of the party would decide who would be contesting the Cape Coast South, Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam, Agona East and the Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abirem (KEEA) seats, which are all held by the opposition, National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Mr. Ernest Arthur, the Cape Coast Metropolitan Chief Executive (MCE) is in the race for the Cape Coast South parliamentary ticket with four other contestants – Isaac Kojo Mensah, whose late father Kojo Mensah Senior was a bigwig of the Party, Ekow Dsane Selby, Stephen Essien Dadson and Emmanuel Andoh Perry Mensah in Cape Coast South. Whoever, wins will contest with Mr. Kweku Ricketts Hagan of the NDC, come December 07, 2020.

In Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam, the contest is between the District Chief Executive, Ransford Kwesi Nyarko, Messrs Rashid Kwesi Etuaful, Elisha Debrah Odoom and Richard Hagan.

Mr. Kennedy Abrokwah, Mr. Princes Yaw Essah and Professor Kwesi Yankah, Deputy Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education, are vying for the Agona East parliamentary ticket.

Mr. Samuel Joe Acquah is going unopposed at KEEA but may have it tough during the general election, as that seat remains one of the strongholds of the NDC.

Undoubtedly, the NDC enjoys enormous goodwill in KEEA, Agona East and the Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam.

In an interview with the Regional Organizer of the NPP, Mr. Percy Dennis said the primary elections held at this time, would allow winners prepare properly, ahead of next year’s Congress, in the run to 2020 general elections.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

417 voter registrants in Ashanti challenged

A total of 417 registrants in the Ashanti Region, have been challenged in relation to …