2016 Voters Register will be used for by-election – EC

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Thursday said it will use the 2016 Voter Register to conduct the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency by-election, slated for January 31, 2019.

Mr Samuel Tettey, the Director of Electoral Service at the EC, briefing the media on the Commission’s preparation towards the up-coming by-election, discounted the allegations that the EC had compiled a new register for the election.

“We have constantly involved all political parties at the Inter-Party Advisory Committee in every process. We are, therefore, surprised that any party will allege that a different register will be used,” he said.

“The rules have not changed. Whoever gets the most number of votes, wins the election”.

Mr Tettey assured all political parties that the EC would ensure a level playing field for all candidates.

“We have a robust system so no one can rig the election in favour of any other party. The rules of the elections are the same. You need to establish your identity as to who you are on the electoral roll, one man – one vote, and observe secret ballot,” he said.

He said all the electoral materials including validation stamps, ballot boxes, register, thump print pad were ready and officials had received the required training to conduct the election.

In all three persons; Madam Lydia Esimam Alhassan of the New Patriotic Party, Mr Delali Kwasi Brempong representing the National Democratic Congress, and Mr William Dowokpor, candidate of the Progressive People’s Party are contesting the election.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.