Blay wins NPP National Chairmanship race 

Mr. Freddie Blay has received ringing endorsement by delegates to the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) national conference to lead the party as its Chairman.

He polled 3,021 votes to beat his other two contestants, Mr. Stephen Ntim, who had 2,515 votes and Dr. Richard Amoako Baah, 18 votes.

Ms. Rita Talata was elected the first National Vice Chairman with the second and third Vice Chairman positions going to Mr. Fredrick Fredua Antoh and Mr. Michael Wadie, respectively.
John Boadu won the General Secretary race beating his only other challenger, Richard Ahiagbah by 4,277 votes to 1,274 votes.

Former Youth Organizer, Sammi Awuku, was elected the new National Organizer, garnering 4,913 votes to beat off the challenge by Emmanuel Tweneboa Kodua, who got 142 votes and Sulemana Sadik, 466 votes.
The incumbent Treasurer, Kwabena Abankwah-Yeboah retained the position with 2,492 votes, defeating his five other contestants.

Ms. Kate Gyamfua secured 686 votes as against 109 votes by Ms Joyce Zempare to become the National Women Organizer.

Henry Nana Boakye becomes the new National Youth Organizer, after he polled 423 votes to go past three other contestants – Dominic Eduah, who had 246 votes, Kamal-Deen Abdulai, 102 votes, and Emmanuel Nana Bediako, a single vote.

Abdul Azizi Haruna Futa was also elected the National Nasara Coordinator of the party.
The new National Chairman addressing the delegates after the election said the NPP was the winner.
It was not a personal victory for anybody but a victory for the party.
He added that the ruling party had emerged from the conference more energized and united.

Mr. Blay who stepped in to lead the party during its difficult moment, in acting position, pledged to work together with everybody to retain political power in the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections.
Mr. Ntim has four times been unsuccessful in his bid for the Chairmanship position but gave the assurance that he would continue to remain loyal.
The new national officers were sworn in by the Most Reverend Dr. Asante Antwi, Chairman of the NPP’s Election Committee.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.