Curfew in five townships renewed

The Ministry of the Interior has renewed the curfew hours of five townships in the Northern and Volta regions.

For the Northern Region they are Bunkprugu; 2000 hours to 0600 hours, from Tuesday, May 8; Kpatinga and its environs from 12 midnight to 0400 hours, effective Friday, May 11; and Bimbilla from 1800 hours to 0600 hours, effective Friday, May 11.

The rest are Alavanyo and Nkonya Townships in the Volta Region from 1800 hours to 0600 hours, effective May 13, 2018.

The renewal of the curfew hours were in a statement signed by Mr Ambrose Dery, the Sector Minister and copied to the Ghana News Agency on Wednesday.

It said the imposition of the curfew was upon the advice of their various Regional Security Councils and by Executive Instrument.

The statement said the ban on carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapons was still in force and that any person found with arms or ammunition would be arrested and prosecuted.

It urged the people to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges confronting them and to use non-violent means to ensure peace in the areas.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.