Seat of Government now Jubilee House

The seat of Government of Ghana, henceforth, is to be known and referred to as ‘The Jubilee House’,  President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has declared in the exercise of the executive power conferred on him under Article  58 in the 1992 Constitution.  

A statement signed by the President, and released on Thursday, March 29, however, stated that the property, The Flagstaff House, which was situated on the premises of the Jubilee House, would be maintained for historic and tourism purposes as the residence of Dr Kwame Nkrumah, Ghana’s first President.

The Flagstaff House is a separate property located on the grounds of the Jubilee House.

“Now, therefore, in exercise of power conferred on the President under Article 58 of the Constitution, I, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic, give notice that the seat of the Presidency of Ghana shall, hereafter, be named, known and referred to as Jubilee House shall be preserved and commemorated, as such,” the statement issued by the Office of the President said.

The President explained that the Jubilee House, built in 2007, by the Second President of the Fourth Republic, John Agyekum Kufuor, was the first presidential palace built by an independent Ghana to serve, expressly, as the official seat of the Ghanaian Presidency.

Justifying his action in view of  the claims of the renaming of the Jubilee House by Professor John Evans Atta Mills, the 3rd President of the Fourth Republic to the Flag Staff House, the  President explained that there was ‘no record evidencing the renaming’ of the seat of the Presidency, as was purported.

A signage, reading ‘JUBILEE HOUSE’ has since been placed on the front gates of the Presidency. 

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.