Minister inaugurates Board of Directors of Ghana Trade Fair Company

Mr Alan Kyeremanten, the Minister of Trade and Industry has inaugurated a nine-member board of Directors of the Ghana Trade Fair Company Limited in Accra.

The board is expected to enhance domestic retail trade and promote made-in-Ghana goods.

The members are Mr Daniel McKorley, Chairman; Dr Agnes Adu; Nii Kpobi Tettey Tsuru III; Madam Gloria Annoh-Wiafe; Mr Tobby Anamkwah and Mr Lawson Tornyi.

The rest are Mrs Ruth O.Q. Addison, Madam Fatimatu Abubakar and Mr Hubert Sevor, all members of the board.

Mr Kyeremanten said it was government’s ambitions to drive industrialisation in the country and urged the board to help strategise plans to achieve the agenda.

He said government was working assiduously to transform the company into a world-class facility to incorporate a national conference centre and entertainment site among others to put the country on the world map.

Mr Kyeremanten challenged the board to help promote the country’s products in international markets and affirmed government’s commitment to support the private sector to establish industrial enterprise across the districts.

“Government aims to decentralise industrialisation and bring industries to the door steps of the citizenry, and that, this could be effective with the support from all and sundry”, he added.

Mr McKorley on behalf of the board members thanked President Nana Akufo-Addo for the confidence reposed in them and pledged to revive the image of the company.

Meanwhile, the Trade Minister has also re-constituted a 12-member task force of the Ministry to deal with smuggled pirated goods coming into the country.

They are: Mr Sumani Mohamadu, Ghana Revenue Authority as the Chairman, Lt Colonel Richard Cobba-Ehun, Ministry of Defence, Mr Abass Almeyaw, Ghana Police Service, Mrs Patricia Boateng and Mr Lawrence Osei-Boateng, Ministry of Trade and Industry.

The rest are Mr Christopher Adjetey, Ghana Standard Authority, Mr Alpha Abdullah Shaban, Ghana Union of Trade Association, Mr Samuel Hemans Addy, Akosombo Textile Limited, Mr Jonathan Sarfo, Tex Styles Limited and Mr Francis Omari from Printex Ghana Limited.

He urged the taskforce to perform their duty without fear or favour to improve local production in the country.

Mr Mohamadu thanked President Akufo-Addo for the opportunity and assured government of their commitment to perform their mandate in an efficient manner.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.