Confusion rocks Agona West Assembly over appointees

A group of New Patriotic Party members have protested against the mode of selection of the new government Appointees on to the Agona West Municipal Assembly. 

Some members of the party alleged that the rightful people were not selected and it could subsequently affect the work of the assembly in the future.

The violent protest compelled authorities of the assembly to call in Police Patrol team from Agona Swedru Divisional Police command to protect life and property.

It took the Police Patrol team led by ASP Sylvester Daimeda several minutes to bring the situation under control.

After calm had been restored, Mr Haruna Sanni, Presiding Member of the Assembly announced the agenda for the special meeting held at Agona Swedru to swear-in the new members.

The new government appointees were sworn into office by Justice Peter Dei Ofei, Agona Swedru High Court Judge.

Mrs Cynthia Morrison, NPP Member of Parliament for Agona West also took an   oath of office as Ex-Officio member of the Assembly.

The selection of two Assembly Members to represent the Electoral College in Cape Coast to elect Council of State member generated heated debate among members.

According to Presiding Member, before the revocation of government appointee members by the President, Mr Frank Abban, Assemblyman for Agona Nyakrom and Esi Crentsil Assembly woman for Swedru Abronye electoral area have been selected already.

This brought an argument over the mode of selection and compelled members of the assembly to settle who should be represented on the electoral college. 

The Assembly members later voted to elect Mr Fank Abban and Ms Helena Nyarkoh Assembly Women for Agona Swedru Dwenho Electoral Area to represent them at the election of Council State member on February 9, 2017 in Cape Coast.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.