EC declares Akufo-Addo winner of 2016 election

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

The Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana Chair, Mrs. Charlotte Osei has declared Nana Akufo-Addo winner of the 2016 presidential elections. She made the announcement at the headquarters of the EC in Accra soon after the incumbent president John Mahama called the opposition candidate to congratulate him and to concede defeat.

Ghanaians voted on Wednesday December 7, 2016, as the provisional results trickled in, everything pointed to a landslide victory for Nana Akufo-Addo.

With the final results announced, Akufo-Addo received 55,716,026 votes which is 53.8 per cent as against 4,713,277, making up 44,40 per cent by the incumbent president, John Mahama.

The total number of voters in the register was 15,712, 499 voters, 10, 781, 609 people voted in the 275 constituencies and there were 166,248 rejected ballots. The turnout was 68.62 per cent.

By Emmanuel K. Dogbevi
Copyright © 2016 by Creative Imaginations Publicity
All rights reserved. This news item or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in reviews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.