Home / Africa/International / No African leader found worthy of 2015 Ibrahim Prize

No African leader found worthy of 2015 Ibrahim Prize

Share this with more people!

Mo-ibrahim-foundation-logoThe Mo Ibrahim Foundation has announced that there is no winner of the 2015 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

The award is meant for a recent former African head of state that was democratically elected and demonstrated exceptional leadership and governance during their constitutionally mandated term.

The foundation announced the decision after a meeting of the independent prize committee chaired by former Secretary General of the Organisation of African Unity Dr Salim Ahmed Salim.

The candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are all former African executive Heads of State or Government who have left office during the last three calendar years, having been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term.

The Sudanese entrepreneur, Mo Ibrahim, who is the founder and board chair of the foundation, was quoted as saying: “The Board respects the decision of the independent Prize Committee. When we launched the Prize ten years ago, we deliberately set a very high bar. We want the Prize to shine a spotlight on outstanding leadership to provide role models right across society, as well as supporting Laureates to continue to serve the continent by sharing their wisdom and experience.”

The foundation said the independent prize committee which meets on a regular basis to review eligible candidates and has begun considering candidates for the 2016 Ibrahim Prize.

Since its launch in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize, regarded as the biggest in the world, has been awarded four times to Nelson Mandela, the inaugural honorary laureate in 2007, President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique also in 2007, Botswana’s former president Festus Mogae in 2008, Pedro Pires of Cape Verde in 2011, and Namibia’s Former President Hifikepunye Pohamba in 2014.

By Emmanuel Odonkor

Share this with more people!

Check Also

2022 West Africa Development Outlook proposes increased sub-regional trade, structural transformation

The ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID) has officially released the 2022 edition of …