Home / Politics / All set for CPP delegates congress in Sunyani

All set for CPP delegates congress in Sunyani

Share this with more people!

CPPAll is ready for the 2015 National Delegates Congress of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) in Sunyani.

Being held at the Sunyani Polytechnic, about 2,500 delegates from the length and breadth of the country are expected to attend and elect new Executives to lead the Party for the 2016 general election in the ballot being conducted and supervised by the Electoral Commission.

When the Ghana News Agency (GNA) visited the venue around 0800 hours delegates, dressed in the party’s various paraphernalia were arriving.

Business activities were brisk at the Sunyani Polytechnic, as traders were sighted selling the Party’s paraphernalia.

The congress has also created a field day for food vendors and sachet water sellers who are positioned at vantage points, while private photographers have also invaded the venue.

Posters of candidates vying for various executive positions were seen posted around some buildings while bill boards of some of the candidates were erected.

The Tanokrom Agroma Drama Troupe of the Centre for National Culture was spicing the congress, entertaining delegates with traditional music and dance.

Notices of polls showcasing the various candidates were posted around some buildings.

An opportunity was also created for the various aspirants to verify the voters register.

Though some CPP executives who were busily working on the accreditation for the congress were reluctant to provide the media with the list of the contestants, the GNA managed to get some of the contestants.

Delegates are expected to elect Professor Edmund Delle, a founding member of the Party as the National Chairman by a popular acclamation.

The First National Vice Chairman is being contested by Prince Roland Vincent Ahiadzor, Hajia Hamdatu Ibrahim Haruna, Ramson Dabihazaaya Yinbil, Alhaji Amadu Tijani Abdul Rahmani, Seth Otibu Mpare, Susan Adu-Amankwaah and Kwamena Benyarko.

Akom Frah, Kosi Dedey and James Kwabena Bomfeh are contesting for the General Secretary position while Emmanuel Kwabena Kwao Ogbordjor and Amankwaah Appiah are vying for the national Organiser position.

The National Women Organiser position is being contested by Hajia Aisha Sulley Futa and Anita Abbaidoo, while Enersto Yeboah and James Tetteh are contesting for the National Youth Organiser position.

Gordon Sammy Etroo is the only candidate contesting as the National Treasurer.

Madam Samia Nkrumah, leader of the CPP, Ivor Greenstreet, outgoing General Secretary and some founding members of the party are also attending the congress.

Other party dignitaries attending the congress included Professor Badu Akorsah, a Central Committee member of the party and Dr Abu Sakara, the 2012 Presidential Candidate of the CPP.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Minority leader demands agriculture minister’s appearance over poultry industry  

Mr Haruna Iddrisu, the Minority Leader, Friday demanded the urgent summoning of Dr Owusu Afriyie …