EC declares 15 electoral areas no contest in WR

ECThe Electoral Commission (EC) has declared 15 electoral areas in the Western Region as no contest because each of the electoral areas had only one candidate filing their papers at the close of nominations.

There are 544 electoral areas in the region, out of which 529 would hold elections.

Mr. Steve Opoku-Mensah, Western Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), told the Ghana News Agency, ahead of Tuesday’s District level Elections (DLE).

Some of the electoral areas where no elections would take place include Kwesimintsim, Awuna beach, Aboade/Fasin, Kamgbunu, Anobea, Nkamponase and Dawurampong.

Mr. Opoku-Mensah indicated that all ballot papers had been distributed to the various districts and security arrangements had been made for them to maintain law and order at the various polling stations.

So far, a total of 1,650 candidates had filed their nominations to contest the DLE in the Western Region, slated for September 1, this year.

In addition, a total of 4,293 filed for the Unit Level Elections, made up of 3,970 men and 323 women.

He entreated the electorate to visit the polling stations to cast their votes on the voting day and return around 1700 hours the same day to observe the counting of the ballots.

He urged the electorate to vote for competent people who can lobby for development projects to their electoral areas.

Mr. Opoku-Mensah indicated that the DLE was non-partisan and charged the candidates to be decent in their campaigns, devoid of any act of violence.

He said the EC had started series of training for its electoral officials across the region, to prepare them adequately for the task ahead.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.