Home / General News / GJA announces 26 award winners

GJA announces 26 award winners

Share this with more people!

GJAThe Ghana Journalists Association (GJA), has selected 26 journalists from across the country as award winners for its 20th edition of the GJA Awards Nights slated for Saturday, August 15.

The award winners are: Rebecca Awuah, Felix Klutse, Joseph Opoku-Gakpo, Elvis Darko, Mabel Aku Banaseh, Doreen Hammond, Nana Konadu Agyeman, Seth Bokpe, Moses Aklorbotu, Jamila Akweley Okertchiri and Seth K. Boateng.

Others are Wendy Laryea, Alberto Mario Noretti, Zadok Gyesi, Samuel Adadi Akapule, Kwettey Nartey, Della Russel Ocloo, David Andoh, Gabriel Ahiagbor, Benedict Owusu, Abdul Hayi Moomen and Nii Adjei Klu.

Other winners were Daniel Nanor, Rebbeca Ekpe, Ayele Ayittey, Kafui Kanyi, Samuel K. Boateng.

Ms Roberta Gardiner, Chairperson of the Selection Committee, congratulated the awards winners adding that the categories in which they won would be announced on Saturday.

She said relevance, accuracy of facts, balance of stories, fairness for all sides of the story, impact of story on the community or nation, exhibition of ethical standards, language and presentation as some of the issues considered in the selection of stories for an award.

She urged journalists who submit their work for awards to do well by addressing them to the appropriate categories as well as use slugs which have bearing or relate to their stories.

She said 199 entries were received, for the 29 categories.

In a related development, three companies namely: Ghana Oil Company Limited, United Nations Development Programme and International Cocoa Initiative donated various sums of money as part of their contribution towards the 20th edition of the GJA Awards.

The Ghana Oil Company Limited presented GH¢20, 000, while the United Nations Development Programme and the International Cocoa Initiative also giving GH¢10, 000 each.

Receiving the donation, Mr Affail Monney, President, GJA, expressed appreciation to the three companies for their assistance to ensure the successful celebration of this year’s awards ceremony.

He said the awards which are given to journalists who have excelled in their line of duty would go a long way to motivate all journalists to pursue excellence in their chosen profession.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Court to commence trial of Adjenim Boateng Adjei in October

An Accra High Court will pick a date in October to commence the trial of …