Ghana government affirms commitment to support business community

Ekow Spio-Garbrah - Minister of Trade
Ekow Spio-Garbrah – Minister of Trade

Dr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, Minister of Trade and Industry, has reiterated government’s commitment to create a congenial environment for business to thrive to further bolster the economy.

“Government remains committed to providing support to entrepreneurs as they are the people that keep an economy vibrant through job and wealth creation.”

He, therefore, commended the efforts of entrepreneurs in sustaining the economy, and affirmed government’s determination to support their efforts, as well as provide the needed support to emerging ones.

Dr Spio-Garbrah made these remarks at the 2015 Ghana Entrepreneur Awards organized by the Entrepreneur Foundation of Ghana (EFG) under the auspices of the Ministry of Trade and Industry in Accra.

This year’s awards ceremony aimed at recognizing outstanding achievements of 120 entrepreneurs, and inducting another 25 into the Ghana Entrepreneur Awards Hall of Fame.

The Ghana Entrepreneur Awards, launched in 2010, is meant to recognize and award the best entrepreneurs, and showcase leading ones in the country.

The Minister said the ministry was mindful of the challenges facing the business community, and was working seriously to address them.

“Our goal is to empower and push small and medium enterprises to grow into global giants to drive the national transformation agenda,” he added.

He further said government had instituted policies and programmes to ensure that businesses operated more efficiently and effectively, to create more jobs for the teeming unemployed youth to improve their living standards.

Mr Sam Ato Gaisie, EFG President and Founder, classified the awards as an important medium to inspire Ghanaians to undertake the entrepreneurship path, and enhance the visibility of Ghanaian entrepreneurs and businesses in Ghana.

He added that the Ghana Entrepreneur Awards was instituted to encourage entrepreneurs to continue to innovate and sustain their leadership to efficiently and effectively run their businesses.

The distinguished entrepreneurs inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame are: Ramchand Udharam Mohinani, Chairman, Mohinani Group of Companies; Professor Edmund N. Delle, Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Rabito Clinic; John Taylor, Founder and Executive Chairman of Surfline Communications; and Prince Kofi Amoabeng, CEO, UT Bank and President of UT Group.

Others are; Togbe Afede XIV, Founder and CEO, SAS Finance Group; Dr Kwabena Adjei, Founder and Group Chairman, Kasapreko Company Limited; Dr Theresa Oppong-Beeko, President Manet Group of Companies; Adelaide Ahwireng, CEO, Fio Enterprises Limited; Mrs Kate Quartey-Papafio, CEO, Reroy Cables Limited; Ernest Ofori-Sarpong, CEO, Special Ice Company Limited; and Dr Osei-Kwame, CEO Despite Group of Companies.

Bhagwan R. Khunchandani, Chairman, Melcom Group of Companies; Saied Assad Fakhry, Chairman Interplast Limited; Ghassan Yared, Founder and Chairman, Forewin Group of Companies; Mr Samuel Amo Tobbin, Executive Chairman, Tobinco Group of Companies; Mr Kofi Nsiah Poku, Founder and Chairman, Kinapharma and Allied Companies; Dr Kwame Kyei, CEO Unity Group of Companies; Dr Mrs Cecilia Adwoa Kwofie, Co-Founder and CEO Domod Aluminium Limited and Domod Roofing Limited.

The rest are: Dr Michael Kwabena Agyekum Addo, Chairman, Kama Group; Obed Danquah, Group Executive Chairman, Morgan group of Companies; Dr Prosper K. Adabla, Executive Chairman new Capital Holdings Limited; Kwame Acheampong-Kyei, Executive Chairman, GLICO Group Limited; and Ernest Bediako Sampong, Executive Chairman, Ernest Chemists Limited.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.