Institute of Public Relations elects new officers

IPRThe Institute of Public Relations (IPR) Ghana has elected a new five member executive committee at an extra-ordinary general meeting in Accra.

A press statement signed by Mr Charles Nii Ayiku Ayiku, Electoral Committee Chairman of IPR, said at the close of elections, Mrs Elaine Sam Kwami polled 40 votes to beat Mr Robert Nana Mensah, to become the President elect of the Institute.

Mr Mawuko Afadzinu, beats Ms Mamle Asare by 57 to 14 votes to become the Vice President elect.

Mr Henry Nii Dottey and Mr Kwame Poku Gyan, were returned unopposed as Honorary Secretary and Deputy Honorary Secretary respectively.

In a close contest for the position of Treasurer, Mrs Mariam Millah beats Mrs Alexandra Oforiwaa Amegadoe by 37 votes to 34.

The President elect, Mrs Elaine Sam Kwami, said even though the burden was a huge one, she would harness the expertise of members of her team and all the losing contestants to build a strong professional body capable of improving on the fortunes of the Institute.

The defeated presidential candidate, Mr Robert Nana Mensah, said the outcome of the elections was a victory for the Public Relations profession and pledged his fullest support and subsequently congratulated Mrs Sam Kwami with a hug.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.