AFCON 2015: Ayew’s daring header sends Ghana into quarter-finals

Andre Dede Ayew
Andre Dede Ayew

Andre Ayew soared late to head in a decisive goal to hand Ghana a 2-1 win over South Africa and book a last eight place for the Black Stars in their Group C match played at the Estadio de Mongomo on Tuesday.

Ayew, anonymous for most part of the match sprang to the end of an in-swing from Baba Rahman to gift Ghana progress into the last eight after the Black Stars trailed South Africa for well over 70 minutes.

The win marks Ghana’s fifth successive qualification into the quarter-finals with John Boye coming off the bench to pull parity for the Black Stars after coach Avram Grant was forced to throw in the defender following an injury to Daniel Amartey.

The win which put Ghana at the apex of  Group C with six points on superior head-to-head against Algeria began in the last 30 minutes of the match when Grant pulled two quick substitution by introducing Emmanuel Agyemang Badu and Kwesi Appiah for Afriyie Acquah and Jordan Ayew respectively.

With Ghana chasing a first win over the Bafana Bafana’s at the competition and South Africa leading head-to-head following two previous victories and one draw, the losers stayed composed and dominated play for most part of the spell.

Masango Mandla put the South Africans ahead in 17 minutes from a bullet volley outside the Black Stars final third after Ghana’s centre back failed to clear a looping ball within the area with a goal that could compete for the goal of the tournament.

Ghana struggled to pin dominance, resulting into long balls without creativity with South Africa increasingly growing in confidence and missing some great opportunities in the process.

As the tie turned, Ghana became the beneficiaries and began attacking in droves. Their effort was to soon pay off with the Black Stars set to meet the runner-up of Group D at the next stage of the competition.


Razak Brimah, Harrison Afful, Baba Rahman, Daniel Amartey, John Boye, Jonathan Mensah, Afriyie Acquah/ Agyemang Badu, Andre Ayew, Mubarak Wakaso, Christian Atsu, Asamoah Gyan and Jordan Ayew/ Kwesi Appiah

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.