Committee to review Auditor-General’s reports inaugurated

Attorney General Marietta Brew
Attorney General Marietta Brew

Mrs Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong, Attorney General (AG) and Minister of Justice, has inaugurated an eight-member committee to review the Auditor-General’s reports from 2006 to 2011.

President John Dramani Mahama on July 1st directed the Attorney General to look into the Auditor-General reports and to prosecute people who would be found to have misappropriated public funds.

The Committee members include Mr Yaw Adjie-Sifa, Deputy Auditor General (AG), as Chairman; Mr Johnson Aseidu Akuamoah, Assistant AG, member; Mrs Patience Adumaoh Lartey, and Mrs Frederica Illiasu, both Principal State Attorneys (PSA) at AG’s Department and members respectively.

The others are Mr Eugene Nyadu, State Attorney as Secretary; Mr Sylvester Williams, PSA; Mrs Penelope Ann-Mamattah, Chief State Attorney; Mrs Rebecca Adjalo, Senior State Attorney all members.

Mrs Appiah-Oppong said the Committee had one month to submit its recommendations.

Committee members would advise on the prosecution of officials whose conduct had caused such losses and recommend any other punitive or restorative measures.

They are also to suggest to the Attorneys General, methods of implementing the recommendations of the various Auditor’ reports.

Mr Adjie-Sifa, on behalf of the members, said they would be committed to the responsibility given to them.

He said the clear intention of Government to stop the misappropriation of public funds by public officials would be supported by the Committee, adding “Some of these things could have been prevented by officers if care was taken”.

She thanked the Minister for the confidence put in them.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.