President Mahama retains Accra Mayor

Dr. Vanderpuije - Accra Mayor
Dr. Vanderpuije – Accra Mayor

President John Mahama has re-nominated Mr Alfred Oko Vanderpuije for the post of Accra Mayor.

The President made the announcement today June 19, 2013 in a statement issued by the Local Government Minister, Akwasi Oppong-Fosu.

The statement also indicated that, President Mahama in accordance with Section 243(1) of the 1992 Constitution and Section 20(1) of the Local Government Act 1993, Act 462, retained some Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs) in the Greater Accra and Eastern Regions.

They were George Opare Addo – Akuapem North; Emmanuel Atta Twum – Atiwa; Nana Baffuor Takyi – Birim South; Andrews Sodah – Yilo Krobo and Samuel Asamoah – Kwahu East.

The rest are Samuel Fleistcher Kwabi – Suhum; Joseph Tetteh Angmor – Upper Manya Krobo; Emmanuel Odor Lartey – Dangbe West and John Kwao Sackey – Ga East.

The President made new nominations in the persons of Paul Dadzie Aboagye – Birim North and Rita Odoley Sowah – La Dadekotopon.

By Ekow Quandzie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.