National Media Commission appoints new Boards

NMC Chairman
Kabral Blay Amihere – NMC Chairman

The National Media Commission (NMC) has, in consultation with the President of the Republic, appointed Chairpersons and other members of the governing bodies of corporations managing the State-owned media.

A press release signed by George Sarpong Executive Secretary to the NMC and copied to the Ghana News Agency on Friday said the appointments are in accordance with Article 168 of the 1992 Constitution and section 2(1)(e) of the National Media Commission Act, 1993 (Act 449).

It said the Board for New Times Corporation has Prof. Omane Antwi as Chair, with Yonny Kulendi, Alhaji Haruna Atta and Rose Margaret Kpodo as members. The other members are Isaac Fritz Andoh, Charles Vandyck and the Managing Director of the Corporation.

The  Graphic Communications Group Limited has Dr. Doris Dartey as Board Chair. Other members are Prof. Kwame Karikari, Hajj Mohammed Amir Kpakpo Addo, Ben Assorow, and Gideon Quarcoo. The rest are Gerald Ankrah, Nana Asantewa Afadzinu and the Managing Director.

Reginald Laryea is Chairman for the Ghana News Agency Board, which also has Sheila Menka Premo, Edmund Fianko, and Prof. Atta Britwum as members. The rest are  Mamle Asare, Christiana Adjoa, Osam Ansah and the General Manager of the Agency.

For the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC) Richard Kwame Asante is Board Chairman, with Akwasi Afriyie Badu,  Oscar Bruce, Irene Duncan-Adanusa and Prince Ankrah as members. The other members are, Mohammed Aminu Futa,Valentina Bannerman, Nii Addo Kwei Moffat and the Director General of the Corporation.

According to the statement, the appointments take immediate effect and are for a period of two years.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.