Second Ghana Industry Awards launched

Nana Owusu-Afari - AGI President
Nana Owusu-Afari – AGI President

The Association of Ghana Industries (AGI) has launched the 2nd Ghana Industry Awards, spanning all sectors of the economy, to provide a platform to help define the highest standards of excellence in business.

The maiden award, which was held in November, last year, aims to encourage and reward the achievements of businesses that have distinguished themselves over the years and to motivate other companies to climb the ladder of excellence.

Nana Owusu-Afari, President of AGI, said some Ghanaian companies had been able to excel despite the challenges such as high production cost, unreliable power supply and weak infrastructure.

“Indeed, we owe it to industry not to turn a blind eye to the many achievements of businesses that have distinguished themselves. It is our duty and an honour for us AGI to give credit to such distinguished companies, while motivating others to climb up the ladder of excellence,” he said.

However, Nana Owusu-Afari said AGI was not interested in awarding companies for the sake of it, but to challenge them to remain competitive and to always aspire to the top.

On the influx of foreign goods in the Ghanaian market, the AGI President expressed the hope that government policy would help regulate the situation.

He commended government for the various policy initiatives outlined in the Ghana Industrial Policy and called for their speedy implementation.

The awards will see companies recognized in six awards categories – Overall Best Industrial Company of the Year, Best Corporate Social Responsibility, Environmental Project Company of the Year, and Fastest Growing Company.

The rest are Young Enterprise Company –Innovation and Entrepreneurship; and Best Practices in Sustainable Manufacturing Company.

There would also be 20 sector award categories of AGI, including Agri-Business; Automotive and Transport; Chemicals; Electricals and Electronics; Energy; Food and Beverages; Financial Services; Garments, Textiles and Leather; Hospitality and Tourism; and Information and Communication and Technology.

The rest are: Metals, Building and Construction; Oil and Gas Service; Pharmaceuticals; Printing, Stationary and Packaging; Rubber and Plastic; Toiletries and Cosmetics; Wood Processing; Business Promotion and Consultancy; Timber Miller; and Advertising.

Mrs Awurabena Okrah, Chairperson, Awards Committee, said an independent technical committee would be responsible for the review and evaluation of nominations, leading to final selection of winners for the various categories.

Some of the key criteria would be growth, tax responsibility, corporate social responsibility and employment generation.

The launch was also used to present certificates to last year award winners.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.