Afigya Kwabre District Assembly fails to elect PM

The Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly failed to elect a Presiding Member (PM) after three rounds of voting could not produce a winner.

It was a straight fight between the incumbent, Nana Boakye Yiadom Atonsa, a government appointee, and Mr Osei Yaw Anning, elected member for Buoho-Wioso.

The election had to be called off after none of them could secure the mandatory two-majority votes of the 61-member Assembly.

The two Members of Parliament (MPs) for the area Mr Owuraku Aidoo and Nana Marfo Amaniampong, jointly pleaded with the members to climb down from their entrenched positions in the interest of unity and development of the district.

They said it was unhelpful to delay the election of a PM and asked that they put the general good of the people ahead of any other consideration.

Mr Aidoo said they should do everything to ensure that the next time they meet the stalemate would be broken.

Madam Emilia Botchway, the District Coordinating Director, appealed to the MPs to regularly attend meetings of the assembly to share with the members their experiences and ideas.

No date was fixed for the election.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.