Honour those who deserve honour while they are alive – Moderator

Speaker Doe Adjaho
Speaker Doe Adjaho

Reverend Samuel K. Amoako, Moderator of the Ho East Presbytery of the Evangelical Presbyterian (E.P.) Church, said those who deserved honour must be honoured in their lifetime.

Such lifetime honours would spur the beneficiaries on, let them feel appreciated, hear their stories being told and motivate others to strive for excellence in whatever they do.

Reverend Amoako said this when the Presbytery conferred honours on some members of the Presbytery for their support and commitment to the Church and public service.

This was at the end of the Presbytery’s Fourth Synod on the theme; “God of Life Lead us to Righteousness, Peace and Dignity for Growth and Development.”

The Presbytery Synods precede the General Assembly of the E.P. Church.

Those honoured include Mr Doe Adjaho, Speaker of Parliament, Mr Justice Senyo Dzamefe, Judge of the Appeals Court, Mrs Dzifa Attivor, Minister of Transport, Mr Edem Asimah, Member of Parliament (MP) for South Dayi, and Mr Peter Nortsu Kotoe, MP for Akatsi-North.

They were described as “icons and inspiration” in the Church and in public service.

Some pastoral districts of the Presbytery were also honoured for meeting their 2011 and 2012 assessments ahead of time and for providing extra financial assistance to the headquarters of the Church when requested.

Reverend Amoako thanked the leadership of the various pastoral districts for their commitments and dedication which has set the Presbytery apart as the pace-setter in several ways especially “in honouring our financial obligations to the various sectors that require our support.”

Some of the issues that engaged the attention of the Synod included the Moderator’s Investment Fund, projects, payment of assessment, uniform liturgy and assessment.

The Synod also considered registration of Church property and lands, income generating projects and activities and keeping of records and inventory.

The Ho East Presbytery comprises 14 Pastoral Districts.

These are Adaklu Waya, Agortime Ave, Akoefe, Awudome, Ho Bankoe, Ho Fiave and Ho Kpodzi.

The rest are Klefe, Sokode, SSNIT Flats, Takla, Taviefe, Wegbe Kpalime and Matse.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.