Lawyer elected Ghana Boxing Authority President

BoxingPeter Zwennes, an Accra-based legal practitioner has been elected president of the Ghana Boxing Authority (GBA) for a four-year term.

Zwennes’ feat headlined the major shock at the first ever elective General Assembly of the body tasked with the development and promotion of professional boxing, held on Thursday at the Accra Sports Stadium.

The calm dark horse, who deputized for former chairman of the GBA, Moses Foh-Amoaning few years ago shrugged off the highly favoured Henry Manly-Spain of Golden Mike Promotions in a landslide, polling 56 votes against 35 for the latter.

The third candidate, Francis Decland, a known boxing promoter and a strong contender could only burst out with laughter after his four votes was made public, whilst immediate past chairman, Samir Captan withdrew from the contest just before the session commenced.

The elective General Assembly, the highest decision making body of the GBA was attended by delegates including gym owners, ring officials, matchmakers, managers and promoters across the country. The elections of executives became imminent following the dissolution of the past board by the National Sports Authority (NSA).

The event, the first ever in the annals of Ghana boxing drew participation from six former World Champions namely David Kotei ‘Poison,’ ‘Professor’ Azumah Nelson, Nana Yaw Konadu, Alfred ‘Cobra’ Kotey, Joshua Clottey and Joseph Agbeko as well as John Allotei Coffie (Nii Adjenkwa), former GBA Chairman. Also present were past members of the GBA board.

For the position First Vice President, Reginald Nii Hansen Thompson, founder of the famous Akotoko Academy garnered 40 votes, six more than Emmanuel Seth Yoofi Boham, credited with the rise of former world champions, Ike Quartey and Alfred Kotey. Jonas Ahene Truly, immediate past Vice Chairman finished a distant third with 21 votes.

The other positions saw the candidates being returned unopposed by virtue of being the sole contenders.

Rabone Dodoo was adjudged Second Vice President, Frederick Ghartey – Treasurer and the trio of Alhaji Taufok Muntala, Dr Samuel Quaye and Isaac Kweku Grantson as Executive Members. A General Secretary will be appointed by the NSA to complement the Executive Board.

Madam Alice Attipoe, Acting Director General of the NSA swore the new executives into office whilst pledging her outfit’s unflinching support towards the realization of their goals.

On his part, Zwennes commended the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and assured of his commitment to work with the various stakeholders to uplift the image of boxing.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.