Home / Politics / NDC retains Buem seat

NDC retains Buem seat

Share this with more people!

NDCMr Daniel Kwasi Ashiamah, 43, of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has won the Buem bye-election.

He polled 9,366 votes representing 84.68 percent of the total valid ballots cast of 11,060 to beat four other contestants.

Mr Nelson Asafo, 46, businessman, who stood on the ticket of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) returned 726 votes, representing 6.46 percent with Mr Ellis Akoto-Ade, 63, a retired educationist, representing the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP) polled 506 votes, representing 4.58 percent of ballots cast.

Alhaji Muniru, 38, of the National Vision Party (NVP) and Mr Adams Darko Boateng, 29, representing the Peoples National Convention (PNC) polled 251 and 211 votes respectively, representing 2.27 and 1.19 percents.

Reverend Simon Yakanu, returning officer, who announced the winner, said there were 187 rejected ballots with the total votes cast totalling 11,247 with 37,127 registered voters on its nominal roll.

Mr Ashiamah, thanked his Constituents for electing him following the demise of the late Henry Ford Kamel.

He said the feat was to the memory of the late MP and pledged to continue with the good works of his predecessor to unite.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Ghana Card as sole identification for voter registration not necessary – former MP

Mr Joseph Kwadwo Ofori, the former Member of Parliament (MP) for Akan Constituency, says relying …