Home / General News / Nominees for GJA elections out

Nominees for GJA elections out

Share this with more people!

GJAThe Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Elections Committee on Tuesday announced the list of candidates contesting the 2013 national and regional elections of the Association.

A statement issued by Benedict Assorow, Chairman of the Committee and copied to the Ghana News Agency in Accra, listed the candidates as follows: National, President; Mr Affail Monney of Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC), unopposed; Vice President, Abu Issah Monney of Peace FM and Mathias Tibu of Ghana Institute of Journalism.

The rest are: General Secretary, Mr Dave E. Abgenu of New Times Corporation (NTC) unopposed; Treasurer, Rosalind Koramah Amoh; Graphic Group of Communication Limited (GGCL), Linda Asante Agyei, Ghana News Agency (GNA); and Nana Yaa Konadu Yiadom, Peace FM; and Public Affairs Officer, Yaa Edusei, Private Practitioner and Mary Tawiah Mensah, GCCL.

Candidates for the Upper East Regional election are as follows: Chairman, Eric K. Amoh, GNA, unopposed; Vice Chairman, Osman Muntawakilu, GBC, unopposed; Secretary, Benjamin Glover, GCGL, unopposed; and Treasurer, Fatima Anafu Astanga, GNA unopposed.

In the Upper West Region, Bajin Dougah Pobia, GNA, filed for the Chairmanship position and went unopposed; Mustapha I. Susolow, Metro TV, Vice Chairman unopposed; Sualah Abdul-Wahab, GBC, Secretary unopposed and Judith Alamadi Bagiro, Treasurer, unopposed.

Albert Adoko and Emmanuel Mensah-Abludo both of GBC filed for the Chairmanship position in the Brong Ahafo Region; Samuel Duodo, GGCL, Vice Chairman; Larry Paa Kwesi Moses, ETV-Ghana; and Dennis Kwadwo Peprah, GNA are eyeing the position of Secretary and Regina Banneh Siaw, GNA, as Treasurer.

In the Ashanti Region, Listowell Yesu Bukarson, Metro TV, filed as Chairman; Kankam Boadu, GNA, Vice Chairman; Kinsley Hope, Ghanaian Times, Secretary; and Georgina Ama Ankomah, GBC, Treasurer.

From the Central Region the Committee received filing from Alice Tetteh, GNA, as Chairperson; David Yarboi Tetteh, Ghanaian Times, as Vice Chairman; Shirley Asiedu Addo , GCGL, Secretary; and Tina Akorful, GCGL as Treasurer.

Only one person namely George Larbi, GNA, filed as Chairman in the Eastern Region.

The Committee said as at 1700 hours on Thursday January 31, it had not received nominations from Volta, Northern, Western and Greater Accra regions.

The GJA Elections Committee has announced that vetting of the candidates for national executive positions would take place on Tuesday February 12 at the Ghana International Press Centre at 1200 hours.

It said as per the GJA Constitution Article [48] [c] [ii] the committee wish to inform all members that the nominations have been extended to Monday February 11 2013 for uncontested positions only and urged interested parties to contact regional election assistants for nomination forms.

The release further requested members of the GJA to submit by hand to the Press Centre, or send written objections on any of the above mentioned names via email giaelectee@gmail.com, by Monday, February 11 2013.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Special Prosecutor compels company belonging to Council of State member to pay back GH¢1.07m to State

The Labianca Company Limited, a frozen food company owned by Ms Eunice Jacqueline Buah Asomah-Hinneh, …