Nana Addo, Bawumia withdraw objection to composition of Supreme Court panel

Akufo-Addo and Dr Bawumia of the NPP
Akufo-Addo and Dr Bawumia of the NPP

Nana Akufo Addo, Dr Mahamadu Bawumia and Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey have withdrawn the objection they made to the composition of the Supreme Court panel set up to hear their petition challenging the result of the 2012 December elections, in a letter dated January 11, 2013 their lawyers wrote to the Registrar of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court panel is to hear an application filed by the National Democratic Congress (NDC) for joinder to the petition challenging the December 7, 2012 presidential vote results which was won by President John Dramani Mahama.

The petitioners said they do not intend to pursue the objection to the composition of the panel in order for the case to be expeditiously tried.

The letter accordingly urged the Registrar of the Supreme Court to fix a date for the motion for joinder to be heard “at the earliest date”.

Presided over by Mr Justice William Atuguba, the nine-member Supreme Court panel is made up of Mr Justice Julius Ansah, Mrs Justice Sophia Adinyira, Ms Justice Rose Owusu, Mr Justice Jones Dotse, Mr Justice Annin Yeboah, Mr P. Baffoe-Bonnie, Mr Justice G. S. Gbadegbe and Mrs Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo.

By Ekow Quandzie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.