PNC, independent MPs join majority side in Parliament

Dr. Benjamin Kumbuor - Majority leader
Dr. Benjamin Kumbuor – Majority leader

The three independent members of Parliament and the only member from the People’s National Convention Party have agreed to work with the majority in Parliament.

They are  Mr Alhassan Dahamani,  member for Tamale South, Mr  Paul Derigubaa, member for Jirapa, Mr Joseph Kwadwo Ofori, member for Akan and Mr Azong Aljassan, member for Builsa South.

Dr Benjamin Kumbuor, Majority Leader, said this on the floor of Parliament in a reply to a question asked by Papa Owusu Ankomah, member for Sekondi who wanted to know which caucus they belonged to.

Mr Isaac Osei, member for Subin, reminded the House of two vacant seats which had reduced the number of the majority to 146 and the current membership to 273.

Parliament suspended sitting to consider the composition of committees to conduct the business of the house.

The issues came up after Dr Kumbuor had read a report  which he and the Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu co-signed  on the meeting of  the leadership on the formula for the composition of the membership of committees, parliamentary delegations, other parliamentary groups and associations and membership of the committee of selection and seeking adoption.

He said in pursuance to Order 153, every member must belong to at least one standing order committee adding the current membership stood as follows: majority (NDC) 146, minority (NPP) 123, PNC, 1, and three Independent members.

He said that the leadership after deliberations recommended as follows; that in accordance with established practice and having regard to Order 154, the composition of the Committees and in all other Parliamentary delegations, groupings and association be based on the ratio 55:45 for the majority and minority respectively.

That considering the urgency of the work of the committee of selection, Business and Appointment Committees in the facilitation of business of the House and that of government, work on the composition of the three committees should be concluded by Friday, 11 January 2013.

That the committee on selection with the Speaker as Chairperson and 19 other members should comprise 10 members from the Majority caucus and nine from minority caucus based in accordance with the agreed ratio of 55:45

Proposed members for the committee of selection are Mr Edward Doe Adjaho for Chairman. The members are Dr Benjamin Kumbuor, Mr Cletus Apul Avoka, Alhaji Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak, Hajia Mary Salifu Boforo, Joseph Appiah Boateng, Alfred Kwame Agbesi, Dr Hannah Louis Bisiw, Mr James Avedzi, Mr Samson Ahi, Mr Abeiku Crentsil, Mr Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Mr Dominic Nitiwul, Mr Daniel Botwe, Mrs Irene Naa Torshie Addo, Mr Ignatius Baffour Awuah, Mr Papa Owusu-Ankomah, Benjamin Kofi Ayeh, Mr Boniface Gambila Adagbila and Mrs Ama Pomaa Andoh.

Source: GNA

Comments are closed.