Ayew, Asamoah, Clottey up for SWAG Footballer of the Year award

Andre Dede  Ayew
Andre Dede Ayew

Kwadjo Asamoah, Emmanuel Clottey and Andre Dede Ayew have been nominated by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) to vie for the 2012 Footballer of the Year Award.

Ayew, who won the 2011 version of the prestigious awards, will face still competition from the two, to retain the award, as Asamoah, had been instrumental with Juventus last year since joining them from Udinese as well as the national team, with Clottey, playing a key role for Berekum Chelsea in the 2012 Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Champions League.

According to a statement from the secretariat of the Association, the event slated for early June, 2013, also saw, Janet Amponsah winner of  100 and 200 meters at the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Games and West Africa Athletics Championship as well as a participant at the World Youth Athletics Championship as the Female Athlete of the Year, with John Ampomah, National Javelin Champion and silver medalist at Africa Athletics Championship winning the Male Athlete of the Year.

Coach of the National Under-17 team, the Black Maidens, Mas-Ud Didi Dramani received nomination as the Coach of the Year, for guiding the team to win bronze medal at the Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) Women Under-17 Tournament, whilst the team was nominated as the National Team of the Year, with Priscilla Okyere nominated for the Female Footballer of the Year according to the statement.

It added that Elikem Akaba and Juanita Korwu, were nominated as Hockey Players of the Year for both male and female categories, whilst young Moses Odjier of Tema Youth was nominated as Promising Star of the Year.

Premier League side Berekum Chelsea’s exploits in the CAF Champions League gained recognition as the Club of the Year.

Abeiku Johnson, a member of the Tesano Dolphins Swimming Club, has been nominated as the Discovery of the Year, after winning six out of seven gold medals won by the club at the Internationales Schwimfest in Arnsberg, Germany.

The statement said, Derek Abrefa and Cynthia Kwabi have been nominated as Table Tennis Players of the Year, male and female division, whilst Emos Kwablah and Beatrice Vetch-Bempong were nominated as Male and Female Golfers of the Year respectively with Alberta Ampomah picking nomination as Weightlifter of the Year.

In the Special Awards category, Emmanuel Kyeremeh President of Berekum Chelsea, Allem Mumuni 2012 Paralympian, Tesano Dolphins Swimming Club were nominated whilst Prof. John Evans Atta Mills and Alhaji Aliu Mahama will be given post humous awards.

The statement added that, nominations for the Sports Personality of the Year, Dedication and Valour will be announced by the close of February.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.