Rashid Pelpuo wins Wa Central seat for NDC

The incumbent Parliamentary Member of the Wa Central, Alhaji Rashid Hassan Pelpuo, has retained the seat for the National Democratic Congress with 28,149 votes.

He defeated the New Patriotic Party’s Parliamentary Candidate Tahiru Issahaku Moonin who had 22,304 votes. Mr. James Sohimwineye, the Progressive People’s Party Parliamentary Candidate received 3,150 votes.

Mr. Bernard Mornah who contested the election on the ticket of the People’s National Convention scored 6,202 votes and Mr. Callistus Doodaa Tang the National Democratic Party’s Parlimentary Candidate also had 120 votes.

Mr. Ali Osman Adamu, Wa Municipal Director of the Electoral Commission who confirmed the results, announced that 2326 ballot papers were rejected in the parliamentary voting.

On the Presidential Election, the National Democratic Congress came on top with 37,382 votes, followed by the New Patriotic Party with 20,822 votes with the Progress People’s Party registering 829 votes.

The People National Convention scored 424 votes, Great Consolidated People’s Party recording 278 votes, United Front Party 75 votes, Convention People’s Party 74 votes and with an Independent Candidate receiving 63 votes respectively.

Some 2,010 ballot papers were rejected in the presidential voting.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.