Ghana begins printing of ballot papers for election 2012

Printing of ballot papers for the Presidential and Parliamentary polls started on November 7 amidst tight security as the Electoral Commission (EC) stepped up preparations for the December 7 elections, Ghana News Agency investigation established at the weekend.

GNA information indicates the various Publishing Houses engaged for the printing have already completed printing the “Election 2012 Notice of Polls”.

On security of the ballot papers and officials involved in the printing, EC Official told the GNA that the Publishing Houses are under strict orders to enforce all printing rules and regulations.

According to GNA information representatives of the contesting parties have joined a team of security men from the Bureau of National Investigations, the Police Service, EC and security men from the various Publishing Houses for the exercise.

The security team has mounted a 24-hour guard at all the Publishing Houses printing the ballot papers.

The Parties have more than one representative at any given time, who is present inside the printing room. Once printing starts for the day no one is allowed in or out of the room.

GNA information from the Publishing Houses also indicates that they have adopted a shift system for all personnel involved in the printing.

The officials told the GNA that at the end of every shift the number of ballot papers printed is recorded and endorsed by party representatives and officials. All spoilt ballot papers are burnt in their presence.

GNA information indicates that agents of some of the seven political parties contesting Election 2012 have pitched camp at the premises of the printing houses to observe and check every process along the line of printing, checking, arrangement and packaging.

The order of presidential candidates on the ballot papers will be what was arrived at following a ballot by the political parties. The presidential candidates will have their photographs and party symbols.

The name, picture or symbol of vice presidential candidates will not appear on the presidential ballot paper.

The order of the presidential candidates is the National Democratic Congress’ President John Dramani Mahama, will be number one; the second will be Dr Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) whilst Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) occupies the third position.

Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive Peoples’ Party (PPP) occupies the fourth position, the United Front Party’s (UFP) Mr Akwasi Adddai Odike, occupies the fifth position and Mr Hassan Ayariga of the Peoples National Convention (PNC) sixth, Dr Michael Abu Sakara Foster of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) seven and the Independent presidential candidate, Mr Jacob osei Yeboah, takes the eighth position.

According to the EC the positions will be the same for parliamentary candidates, with independent candidates coming after candidates of the political parties in alphabetical order.

Source: GNA

1 Comment


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.