Home / General News / Brong-Ahafo elects new Regional House of Chiefs President

Brong-Ahafo elects new Regional House of Chiefs President

Share this with more people!

The Brong-Ahafo Regional House of Chiefs on Tuesday elected Pemapem Yaw Kagbrese II, Omanhene of Yeji Traditional Area as its President at the Second General Meeting of the House in Sunyani on Tuesday.

Pemapem Kagbrese polled 25 votes to beat his challenger Agyewodin Adu Gyamfi Ampem, Omanhene of Acherensua Traditional Area, who secured seven votes in the election supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC).

Nana Bofobene Gyeabour, Paramount Chief of Dwenem Traditional Area secured 18 votes to become the Vice President beating Nana Fosu Gyeabour Akoto II, Paramount Chief of Bechem who obtained 13 votes.

Three other paramount chiefs, Nana Kwame Korang II of Awuah-Dumase; Nana Ansah Adu Baah of Yamfo and Osahene Kwaku Aterkyi II, Kukuomhene and immediate past President of the House were elected to represent it at the National House of Chiefs.

Osahene Aterkyi expressed appreciation to the members for their utmost support during his administration, and pledged to offer free advice to the newly elected President in all matters involving the House.

He expressed concern about the increase in judicial cases pending before the House.

At the end of his four-year tenure in office, there were 52 cases made up of 44 petitions and eight appeals.

Osahene Aterkyi said attempts were being made to settle some of the cases out of court through Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Mechanism but could not succeed.

He regretted that after parties had been met and cases settled some aggrieved parties resorted to the law courts to quash decisions of the mediation committee.

Osahene Aterkyi expressed appreciation to the Brong-Ahafo Regional Security Council (REGSEC) for its role in the maintenance of peace in the Region.

On Election 2012, he noted that for the past 20 years, Ghana had undertaken elections, which ended peacefully and successfully to the admiration of the world.

Osahene Aterkyi said Ghana had now been seen as the beacon of democracy in the Sub-Saharan Region therefore, this year’s election was a test case to ascertain the level of her maturity in multi-party democracy.

He appealed to leadership of political parties to avoid unguarded and intemperate language likely to create trouble and disturbances that might derail the positive gains achieved so far.

Osahene Aterkyi urged chiefs to play their roles as traditional leaders by educating their subjects to be careful not to engage in any political activities that could bring conflict situations in their respective areas.

Pemapem Kagbrese, who before the election was the Vice President of the House, thanked the members for the confidence reposed in him and pledged that with support from them, chieftaincy disputes would be resolved amicably.

Two new chiefs were sworn into the House. They were Nana Kwabena Nangor II, Chief of Debibi and President of Tain Divisional Council and Nana Owusu Kuntor, Chief of Mehame and President of Ahafo Divisional Council.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Prof. Alex Dodoo sworn in as President of African Organisation for Standardisation

The Director General of the Ghana Standards Authority (GSA), Professor Alex Dodoo, has been sworn …