UEW launches 20th anniversary celebration

A total of 70,273 professional teachers have graduated from the University of Education, Winneba (UEW), since the university’s establishment 20 years ago.

Professor Akwasi Asabere-Ameyaw, Vice-Chancellor of the University, made this known when launching the 20th Anniversary Celebration of the university at Winneba on Tuesday.

The one year celebration is under the theme: “Twenty Years of Quality Teacher Education”.

Prof. Asabere-Ameyaw, giving the history of the university, said the UEW was established in September 1992 as a University College under PNDC Law 322.

He said UEW brought together seven diploma awarding colleges located in different towns under one institution.

They are the Advance Teacher Training College, Specialist Training College and the National Academy of Music, all in Winneba and the School of Languages at Ajumako.

The rest are the College of Special Education, Akwapim-Mampong, Advance Technical Training College in Kumasi and the Saint Andrews Agricultural Training College at Mampong-Ashanti, saying that all these centers were satellite campuses.

The VC said the first batch of 481 students was enrolled in November 1992, adding that the university gained autonomy from the University of Cape Coast in 2004 by the University of Education Act 2004 (Act 672).

The first Vice Chancellor of the UEW was Prof. Jophous Anamuah-Mensah and the Registrar was Mr J. N. Aryeetey.

Prof. Asabere-Ameyaw said the faculties of the university had increased from six in 2007 to nine presently while the academic departments/centres had also grown from 30 in 2007 to 50 currently.

He said improving on physical infrastructure is of priority of the university for creating conducive environment for academic and administrative activities.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.