SA’s Dhlamini Zuma sworn-in as new AUC head

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Former South African Foreign Minister Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma has been sworn-in as head of the African Union Commission (AUC).

The event took place in Addis Ababa today October 15, 2012.

Ms Zuma becomes the first woman to become the AUC chairperson. She took over from Dr Jean Ping and will be in office for four years.

Dr. Zuma will be deputized by Mr. Erastus Mwencha.

The ceremony was attended by Dr. Boni Yayi, President of the Republic of Benin and Chairperson of the African Union.

The AU Commission is the Secretariat of the Union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 officials: a Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; eight (8) Commissioners and staff members.

By Ekow Quandzie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.