No winner for 2012 Mo Ibrahim $5m prize

There was no winner for the 2012 edition of the Mo Ibrahim $5 million prize for good governance.

“The Prize Committee reviewed a number of candidates but none met all of the criteria needed to win the Prize,” Mr Salim Ahmed Salim, a member of the Prize Committee announced at a press conference today October 15, 2012 in London.

On whether no African leader was suitable for the award this year will dent the image of Africa, founder of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation and initiator of the prize, Mo Ibrahim said “It does not mean we don’t have good leaders. We not here to compromise…that will discredit the award.”

“Excellence is something special,” Mo Ibrahim said.

He added “It is not discouraging but rather gives encouragement”.

The prize is awarded each year to a democratically elected African leader who has voluntarily left office.

The 2011 prize was won by Cape Verde President Pedro Verona Pires.

However, there was no winner in 2009 and 2010 because the panel said there had been no suitable candidate.

Former Botswana President Festus Mogae and Mozambique’s Joaquim Chissano have all been winners of the prize.

By Ekow Quandzie

1 Comment
  1. darra says

    At Last! Finally! Someone or an organisation that can not only spell the word EXCELLENCE but knows what it means! I salute you, Sir!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.