Ghanaian trio for CAF’s top player prize

Kwadwo Asamoah

Ghanaian trio Andre Ayew, Kwadwo Asamoah and Emmanuel Agyeman-Badu have been nominated for the CAF African Player of the Year 2012.

The three were among 34 nominees listed by CAF. The list also includes reigning African Player of the Year and Manchester City’s Yaya Toure.

Other nominees are Didier Drogba, Rainford Kalaba, Stoppila Sunzu, Emmanuel Myuka and Christopher Katongo all from Zambia, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

The 34 names will be cut down in the coming weeks before the final announcement of the winner for this year’s edition, which will be held on December 20 in Accra, Ghana.

Meanwhile, four Ghanaians made the 32-man list of the African Player of the year – Based in Africa.

The Esperance duo – Emmanuel Clottey and Harrison Afful have both made the list of nominees and are joined by Razak Yakubu of Sudanese side Al Ahly Shandy and Berekum Chelsea’s Solomon Asante.

By Ekow Quandzie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.