Ghana’s Minister Omane Boamah chairs 2012 ECOWAS Games LOC

A 14-member Local Organising Committee (LOC) was on Tuesday inaugurated to supervise the successful organization of the 2012 Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Games.

The Committee under the chairmanship of Dr Edward Omane Boamah, Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports (MOYS) will see to the organizational and infrastructural challenges related to the second edition of the Games billed for 2-8 June in Accra, Ghana.

Clement Kofi Humado, Minister of Youth and Sports, inaugurating the Committee, tasked the membership to work hard towards the success hosting of the event that will last in the minds of all.

He said the six-day games is aimed at promoting peace and unity within the sub-region and also contribute towards the realization of the “ECOWAS Vision 2020” which seeks to move the community from an “ECOWAS of States” to an “ECOWAS of People”.

Mr Humado announced that participation is open to athletes of not more than 23-years from the 15-member countries who are to vie for honours in disciplines such as Athletics, Boxing, Handball, Volleyball and Traditional Wrestling.

The Minister said due to the language diversity of the sub-region, three languages namely English, French and Portuguese will be deployed during the Games.

Taro Simon, a Director of the ECOWAS Youth and Sports Development Centre said over 3000 athletes and officials are expected in Ghana during the period of the Games.

He expressed satisfaction with the level of preparations towards the Games, which will give the ECOWAS youth an opportunity to compete against each other, exchange ideas and also promote regional integration.

Dr Omane Boamah in his acceptance speech said that various sub-committees will be constituted to support the organization of the Games in other areas notably, procurement.

He assured that his team will make public the report encompassing the technical, administrative and financial aspects within two months upon completion of the Games.

The members of the LOC includes Alhaji Abdulai Yakubu (Chief Director, MOYS), Wolanyo Agra, Director General, National Sports Authority, and Alhaji Lartey of the National Security, Mrs Sedina Tamakloe Attionu National Coordinator, National Youth Authority, Joseph Chognuru, Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning.

The others are Ms Perpetua Dufu Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Gabriel Tandoh, Ministry of Tourism, Bernard Atchera Annan, National Coordinator of Physical Education, Ghana Education Service, Erasmus Adorkor, Chief Technical Officer, National Sports Authority , Nii Adotey Din Barima, 2nd Vice President, Ghana Olympic Committee, Prosper Apasu, Seth Osei Agyin and Michael Akwasi Sarpong all of the MOYS.

Nigeria hosted the maiden edition of the ECOWAS Games in 2010.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.