Alhaji Abdul-Rashid Pelpuo wins Wa Central ticket

Alhaji Abdul –Rashid Pelpuo, the incumbent Member of Parliament for Wa Central, was on Saturday elected at the Wa Central Constituency Delegates Conference of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) to contest the 2012 general elections.

Alhaji Pelpuo won the election with a huge margin, recorded 350 votes out of the 476 votes cast, beating the second contestant Mr. Ali Hudu Mogtari who obtained 126 votes.

Three delegates were absent and with one ballot rejected, bringing the total number of delegates to 480.

Addressing the delegates, Alhaji Pelpuo said he has forgiven all who might have wronged him and pleaded with others to equally forgive him if he has also wronged them.

He asked supporters of the Party to combine efforts and prepare properly to retain the Wa Central seat for the NDC, saying “maintaining the seat for the NDC must be our ultimate goal”.

Mr. Mogtari, on his part, called on his supporters to unite with the constituency executives and work harder than before to win the seat for the NDC.

The two contestants hugged on each other and shook hands with bouncy smiles on their faces to the admirations of their supporters.

Naa Seidu Braimah, a Member of Council of State, who chaired the occasion, called on NDC supporters in the communities to work towards victory for the party in the 2012 elections.

He advised supporters of the Party to remain united and let the will of the NDC be more dominant than individual desires and concerns in wherever they found themselves or were doing.

Alhaji Seidu Jamatutu, Wa Central Constituency Chairman, pleaded with supporters to let the election of Alhaji Pelpuo to energize them to work harder than before to retain the seat and not to cause defections among the supporters.

Reports reaching the GNA indicate that apart from the Member of Parliament for the Sissala East, Madam Halitie Dubie, who suffered defeat at the hands of Madam Alijata Sulemana, the District Chief Executive, all other Members of Parliament in the region had won their seats.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.