Public Services Workers Union elects national officers

The Public Services Workers Union of the Ghana Trades Union Congress (PSWU-GTUC) has elected a nine-member national executive to run the affairs of the Union for the next four years at the end of its quadrennial delegates’ conference in Kumasi.

Mrs Georgina Opoku Amankwaa, a legal practitioner, had 108 votes to defeat her only challenger, Mr Daniel Arhin-Sam, who polled 69 votes to retain her position as the national chairperson of the union.

Mr Richard Amparbeng, Deputy General Secretary, was elected unopposed as the General Secretary, as he was the only contender for that position to replace the incumbent general secretary, Mr Abraham Okine, who had retired after 30 years of service to the Union.

The position of the Vice- Chairperson went to Mr Joseph Debrah-Gyamfi, former Western Regional chairman of the Union, whiles Mr Bernard Adjei, the Greater Accra Industrial Relations Officer, was elected the deputy general secretary.

Mr Ken Kwaku Tweneboa- Kodua, was elected the first trustee, with Mrs Fati Seidu-Tambaro, as the second trustee, whilst the position of Vice Chairperson for women went to Mrs Cecilia Naab Okling.

Swearing in the elected officers, the General Secreatry of the GTUC, Mr Kofi Asamoah, advised members of the Union to ensure that the officers performed their duties effectively for the rapid development of the Union.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.